Retour aux vignettes
  • Livraison gratuite en raison de la somme de 35 € (en allemagne)
  • Expédition DHL - livraison, y compris les samedis
  • Plus de 50.000 produits disponibles en stock

Asleep At The Wheel Havin' A Party (CD-DVD)

Havin' A Party (CD-DVD)
Veuillez m'envoyer un email lorsque cet article sera à nouveau livrable.

Réf. de l’article: CDCLP2349

Poids en kg: 0,100

19,95 € *

Asleep At The Wheel: Havin' A Party (CD-DVD)

(2015/Cleopatra) 37 tracks, CD & DVD Set (NTSC, Code 0)
One spectacular live event by Texas swing traditionalists Asleep At The Wheel, presented on both audio CD and DVD! Includes boot-stomping performances of the classics Choo Choo Ch Boogie, The Letter That Johnny Walker Read (#10 US Country Singles chart), Hot Rod Lincoln and much, much more! DVD includes the full concert, professionally shot with multiple cameras, 5.1 surround sound mixes and special behind the scenes footage and interviews! Recorded on Feburary 24th 2006 at the Sellersville Theatre, MA. Since the early '70s, Asleep at the Wheel have been the most important force in keeping the sound of Western swing alive. In reviving the freewheeling, eclectic sensibility of Western swing godfather Bob Wills, the Wheel have earned enthusiastic critical praise throughout their lengthy career; they have not only preserved classic sounds that had all but disappeared from country music, but have also been able to update the music, keeping it a living, breathing art form.

(2015/Cleopatra) 37 tracks.



Asleep At The Wheel - Havin' A Party (CD-DVD) Medium 1
1: Choo Choo Ch Boogie  
2: Ain't Misbehavin (I'm Savin My Love For You)  
3: The Letter That Johnny Walker Read  
4: Sittin On Top Of The World  
5: What A Wonderful World  
6: Big Ball's In Cowtown  
7: You're From Texas  
8: Hot Rod Lincoln  
9: House Of Blue Lights  
10: Cotton Eyed Joe  
11: Miles And Miles Of Texas  
12: (Get Your Kicks On)Route 66  
13: Take Me Back To Tulsa  
14: Texas,Me And You(Tracks 1-14 on Cd format)  
Asleep At The Wheel - Havin' A Party (CD-DVD) Medium 2
1: Cherokee Maiden  
2: Miles And Miles Of Texas  
3: (Get Your Kicks On) Route 66  
4: Don't Fence Me In  
5: Liza Jane  
6: I Wonder  
7: Take Me Back To Tulsa  
8: Bob's Breakdown  
9: Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens  
10: I'm An Old Cowhand(From The Rio Grande)  
11: Under The Double Eagle  
12: Texas,Me And You  
13: Choo Choo Ch Boogie  
14: Ain't Misbehavin (I'm Savin My Love For You)  
15: The Letter That Johnny Walker Read  
16: Sittin On Top Of The World  
17: What A Wonderful World  
18: Big Ball's In Cowtown  
19: You're From Texas  
20: Hot Rod Lincoln  
21: House Of Blue Lights  
22: Cotton Eyed Joe  
23: Bump Bounce Boogie (Tracks 1-23 on DVD format  


Artikeleigenschaften von Asleep At The Wheel: Havin' A Party (CD-DVD)

  • Artiste Asleep At The Wheel

  • Albumtitel: Havin' A Party (CD-DVD)

  • Format CD
  • Catégorie Country
  • Edition 2 Deluxe Edition
  • Titre Havin' A Party (CD/DVD)
  • Release date 2015
  • Marque CLEOPATRA
  • Sous-catégorie Country - Traditional Country
  • EAN/GTIN 0741157234923

  • Poids en kg 0.100

Description du fabricant "Asleep At The Wheel"

Asleep At The Wheel

Mitglieder: Ray Benson, Gesang, Gitarre- Chris O`Connell, Gesang, Gitarre- Tony Garnier, Bass- Danny Levin, Fiddle, Mandoline- Lucky Oceans, Steel Guitar- Leroy Preston, Gesang, Gitarre, Schlagzeug- Link Davis,Jr., Fiddle, Saxophon- Floyd Domino, Keyboards- Bill Mabry, Fiddle- Gene Dobkin, Gesang, Bass- Reuben Gosfield, Steel Guitar- Richard Casanova, Fiddle- Scott Hennige, Schlagzeug- Ed Vizard, Tenor Saxophon- Patrick Ryan, Saxophon, Klarinette- Chris York, Schlagzeug- Andy Stein, Fiddle, Saxophon-John Nicholas, Gitarre, Piano, Gesang- Spencer Starnes, Bass- Fran Christina, Schlagzeug

Record Labels: United Artists, Epic, Capitol, MCA
Erster Hit: Choo Choo Ch'Boogie (1974)
Erster Top Ten Hit: The Letter That Johnny Walker Read (1975)

Asleep At The Wheel, eine 1970 in West Virginia gegründete Western Swing Band, die später nach San Francisco und schließlich 1974 nach Texas zog. Am Anfang noch ganz der Western Swing Tradition verpflichtet, begann die Gruppe später mit Elementen aus dem Jazz zu experimentieren, ohne jedoch den Swing ganz abschütteln zu können- dafür sorgte immer wieder als Gast der Ex-Texas-Playboy Johnny Gimble. Neben Commander Cody und seinen Lost Planet Airmen war Asleep At The Wheel Anfang der 70er Jahre maßgeblich an der Wiederbelebung des Western Swing beteiligt. Mit dem Ende der 70er Jahre war die Gruppe dann kaum noch im Gespräch. Erst 1986 erschien wieder eine neue L.P. von Asleep At The Wheel, die jedoch wenig Aufsehen erregte und die auch kaum an die Qualität der Einspielungen aus den 70er Jahren anknüpfen konnte. 1987 dann, zurückgekehrt zu Epic, brachte die Gruppe ihre Musik wieder auf den Punkt und hatte Erfolge.

Asleep At The Wheel

  Take Me Back To Tulsa

In these times when absolutely every note that Bob Wills, Milton Brown, and Cliff Bruner recorded is available on Bear Family and other labels, it's worth remembering that, in 1973, western swing was woefully hard to find on records. A few various artists' compilations and budget albums were about the extent of it. Bob Wills' then-current albums on Kapp were no incentive for anyone to go in search of his music; a bigger incentive came from Merle Haggard's 1970 album 'Tribute To The Best Damn Fiddle Player In The World.' The San Francisco western swing/honky tonk revival noted by a 'Billboard'correspondent in mid-1972 had already seen revivalist albums with a counter-culture twist released by Dan Hicks and Commander Cody. Just behind them came Asleep at the Wheel. On the east coast, they'd opened for Alice Cooper and other acts before the Commander told them to come west. "I demoed Asleep at the Wheel for Jerry Wexler at Atlantic," said group leader Ray Benson. "We sent it in and I got it back and he said, 'It's very nice but the lead guitar player needs work.' He was right. So I went to work." Then, in aninterview a couple of years later, Van Morrison said, "...there's some relatively unknown group around that I really dig. Asleep at the Wheel plays great country music." That was enough to send the record labels in search of the Wheel. Former Cricket Tommy Allsup landed the deal for United Artists.

Like many of Bob Wills' best and best-known songs, Take Me Back To Tulsa had been a fiddle tune, known as Take Me Back To Texas before Wills moved to KVOO Tulsa. He recorded it during several days of Dallas sessions in February 1941 that resulted in a plethora of transcendently great music. Of course, Ray Benson couldn't hope to match the droll, inebriate charm of Wills' vocalist, Tommy Duncan. Who could? Soon after the Wheel's first LP came out, Willie Nelson persuaded them to join the nascent Austin scene. "He heard this young band, a long-haired band, was playing Bob Wills' music," Ray Benson said later. "He was just very curious. That was in '73, and he was one of the guys who convinced me to move to Texas. We were living in California at the time. He put us on shows and introduced us around." Forty-two years and one hundred band members later, Asleep at the Wheel is still at it, and still based in Austin. Their 2009 album with Nelson, 'Willie And The Wheel,' reached #13 on the country album charts and won a Grammy.

Various Truckers, Kickers, Cowboy Angels - The Blissed-Out Birth Of Country Rock, Vol. 6: 1973 (2-CD)
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Asleep At The Wheel - Havin' A Party (CD-DVD)
Évaluations des clients pour "Havin' A Party (CD-DVD)"
Les évaluations sont publiées après vérification.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Asleep At The Wheel: Havin' A Party (CD-DVD)"

Les articles signalés par une * sont à renseigner obligatoirement.

Nelson, Ricky: The Ballads...

Contenu: 1.0000

15,95 € * Au lieu de : 16,95 € *

Dernier article consulté